the beginning and ending of the creative process

the beginning and ending in the creative process

My friend Adell is an Plein Air artist. She paints outside and in real light. This winter, she wanted to learn snow: its texture, and  how the light of day, bright and dying, changed its essence. Then, she needed to translate it onto canvass. After the scetching, she did the painting. Then she sent it to me, and wrote, “Hey, this is what I painted today. I hope you like it.”

When I spoke to her about my post, we discussed the similarities in our art forms. And we came to the same conclusions about the beginning and the ending of the creative process.

In the beginning, we have to learn our craft.

Then, we decide what we want to say about that craft that is unique to us.

Pieces of our work are created, polished, and our ending?

We send them out to the world and say, “Hey world, I created this. I hope you like it.”

One thought on “the beginning and ending of the creative process

  1. Adell

    Yes! And for some of us, that relentless pursuit of craft continues long after the beginning. Yesterday I stood outside in 23 degree weather, making a painting of a stand of trees in a field of snow. Today I’m huddled inside making a still life of a lemon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

